Every year, BAFTA, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts give out a number of different awards. And not just for the film and television industry either. Video games also get their own British Academy Games Awards. There are various different categories, but there is one that is held in high esteem. It’s given in honour of the best game of the year, across all genres and platforms. The first awards ceremony was held in 2004, and the Best Game Award was received by Infinity Ward and Activison for their Call of Duty video game.

When the award was first handed out it was known as Game of the Year – The Year’s Best Game. And since its inception, thirteen games have received this award. The developers which have received the award the most times is Valve Corporation, having won it twice. Activision and Valve have received the award twice as publishers. Nintendo’s Entertainment Analysis and Development division have been nominated for the award 6 times. More times than any other developer. Electronic Arts have been nominated 11 times as a publisher.

The last winner of the award is Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End. A game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Interactive Entertainment.

kids excited at video game

The winners of the British Academy Games Award for Best Game

Year Game Developer Publisher
2002/03 Call of Duty Infinity Ward Activison
2003/04 Half-Life 2 Valve Corporation Valve Corporation
2005/06 Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter Ubisoft Paris, Red Storm Entertainment, Ubisoft Shanghai, Darkworks, Grin Ubisoft
2006/07 BioShock 2K Boston, 2K Australia 2K Games
2007/08 Super Mario Galaxy Nintendo EAD Tokyo Nintendo
2009 Batman: Arkham Asylum Ubisoft Montreal Ubisoft
2010 Mass Effect 2 BioWare Electronic Arts
2011 Portal 2 Valve Corporation Valve Corporation
2012 Dishonored Arkane Studios Bethesda Softworks
2013 The Last of Us Naughty Dog Sony Computer Entertainment
2014 Destiny Bungie Activision
2015 Fallout 4 Bethesda Game Studio Bethesda Softworks
2016 Uncharted 4: A Thiefs End Naughty Dog Sony Interactive Entertainment

There are a number of developers and publishers who have been nominated and won awards on more than one occasion.


Developers who have received three or more Best Game nominations

  • 6 nominations – Nintendo EAD
  • 5 nominations – EA Canada
  • 4 nominations – Ubisoft Montreal
  • 3 nominations – BioWare, Harmonix, Infinity Ward, Rockstar North, Valve Corporation

There are two developers who have actually won the award twice and they are Naughty Dog and Valve Corporation.

in the VR reality


Publishers who have been nominated for Best Game four or more times

  • 12 nominations – Electronic Arts
  • 7 nominations – Nintendo, Sony Computer Entertainment
  • 5 nominations – Activision, Ubisoft
  • 4 nominations – Microsoft Studios, Rockstar Games

There are 3 publishers who have actually won the award twice and they are Activision, Valve Corporation, Bethesda Softworks.